PlacementReport
Indraprastha Institute of Information Technology, Delhi logo

Indraprastha Institute of Information Technology, Delhi2024 Placement Report

Numbers

Highest CTC
₹49 LPA (domestic)
Average CTC
₹20.46 LPA
Median CTC
₹18 LPA

Editorial review

By

Indraprastha Institute of Information Technology, Delhi's 2024 placement cycle: IIIT-Delhi's 2024 placement season saw 113 companies extend 677 offers (548 full-time, 129 internships), with an overall placement percentage of 85.98% and a domestic highest package of Rs 49 lakh; median CTC printed at ₹18 LPA. The longer reading and numbered takeaways below unpack what that means for sector mix, recruiter depth, and how to read average versus median.

With 677 offers extended by 113 recruiters, IIIT-Delhi's 2024 season averaged close to six offers per recruiting company, and the 548 full-time-to-129-internship split within that total shows internships made up under a fifth of all offers, with full-time hiring dominating. The Rs 20.46 lakh average sitting above the Rs 18 lakh median again points to a distribution with a higher-paying tail lifting the mean, and that tail is visible in the 9 international offers, whose highest compensation of USD 114,000 (about Rs 95.15 lakh) nearly doubled the Rs 49 lakh domestic highest, suggesting the small international cohort reached meaningfully higher ceilings than the domestic track even though it represents a small fraction of the 677 total offers.

This is IIIT-Delhi's own official press release dated June 5, 2024, covering its 2024 placement season across UG and PG programs combined, with an overall placement percentage of 85.98% built from a B.Tech rate of 84% and a higher M.Tech rate of 89%. 78 offers carried a CTC above Rs 30 lakh, a little over a tenth of all offers, consistent with a modestly right-skewed pay distribution.

The release did not state the total number of eligible/registered students or students placed as a headcount, only the percentage and offer counts, so studentsPlaced and totalStudents are omitted here rather than estimated.

IIIT-Delhi's press release and its later placement statistics page (batch graduated in 2024) differ because the page was updated after the June 2024 release: the page reports 590 eligible students, 153 companies and 698 offers (570 full-time, 129 internship), with an overall average CTC of Rs 20.53 LPA and an overall median of Rs 17.34 LPA (B.Tech median Rs 18 LPA), against the release's 113 companies, 677 offers, Rs 20.46 LPA average and Rs 18 LPA median. The figures above follow the press release. Neither official document gives a sector-wise split of offers or names the recruiters of the 2024 batch (the institute's "Our Recruiters" pages are logo walls not tied to a year), so those fields are omitted.

Key takeaways

  1. International offers stayed rare

    9 of 677 offers were international (1.3%). That share is small enough that domestic packages define the typical story. Crore-plus overseas headlines, when they appear, usually sit in this thin tail rather than in the median.

  2. 113 recruiters participated

    113 firms participated for 677 offers, about 6 offers per recruiter on average. Offer concentration among a few brand-name firms is common at top campuses; check whether your target employers actually appear in this list rather than assuming brand gravity alone.

  3. Average sits above the median

    Average CTC (₹20.46 LPA) sits about ₹2.5 LPA above the median (₹18 LPA). That gap usually means a smaller set of higher offers pulled the mean up, so the median is the safer read on a typical package for this 2024 batch.

Frequently asked questions

How did average CTC compare with the median in 2024?

Average CTC was ₹20.46 LPA and median was ₹18 LPA. The average sits above the median, so a smaller set of higher offers pulled the mean up relative to a typical package.

How does the highest CTC compare with the average in 2024?

The highest CTC was ₹49 LPA (domestic), about 2.4x the average of ₹20.46 LPA.

How significant were international offers in 2024?

9 of 677 offers were international (1.3%).

Which program does this 2024 report cover?

This page covers All UG and PG programs (B.Tech, M.Tech), Placement Season 2024 at Indraprastha Institute of Information Technology, Delhi.

Notes

With 677 offers extended by 113 recruiters, IIIT-Delhi’s 2024 season averaged close to six offers per recruiting company, and the 548 full-time-to-129-internship split within that total shows internships made up under a fifth of all offers, with full-time hiring dominating. The Rs 20.46 lakh average sitting above the Rs 18 lakh median again points to a distribution with a higher-paying tail lifting the mean, and that tail is visible in the 9 international offers, whose highest compensation of USD 114,000 (about Rs 95.15 lakh) nearly doubled the Rs 49 lakh domestic highest, suggesting the small international cohort reached meaningfully higher ceilings than the domestic track even though it represents a small fraction of the 677 total offers.

This is IIIT-Delhi’s own official press release dated June 5, 2024, covering its 2024 placement season across UG and PG programs combined, with an overall placement percentage of 85.98% built from a B.Tech rate of 84% and a higher M.Tech rate of 89%. 78 offers carried a CTC above Rs 30 lakh, a little over a tenth of all offers, consistent with a modestly right-skewed pay distribution.

The release did not state the total number of eligible/registered students or students placed as a headcount, only the percentage and offer counts, so studentsPlaced and totalStudents are omitted here rather than estimated.

IIIT-Delhi’s press release and its later placement statistics page (batch graduated in 2024) differ because the page was updated after the June 2024 release: the page reports 590 eligible students, 153 companies and 698 offers (570 full-time, 129 internship), with an overall average CTC of Rs 20.53 LPA and an overall median of Rs 17.34 LPA (B.Tech median Rs 18 LPA), against the release’s 113 companies, 677 offers, Rs 20.46 LPA average and Rs 18 LPA median. The figures above follow the press release. Neither official document gives a sector-wise split of offers or names the recruiters of the 2024 batch (the institute’s “Our Recruiters” pages are logo walls not tied to a year), so those fields are omitted.