BITS School of Management2024 Placement Report
BITS School of Management: 2024 Placement Report
Numbers
Editorial review
BITSoM's second MBA cohort placed 119 of the 128 students who sat for placements across 41 firms, with an audited median CTC of INR 24.00 LPA (up from INR 23.00 LPA for the founding class), an average of INR 23.41 LPA that was essentially flat, and a new highest of INR 50.00 LPA.
The Class of 2022-24 had 131 students, of whom 3 opted out and 128 sought placement through the school; 119 received offers and 9 were still unplaced when the audited report was issued (data as on 26 July 2024). That is a weaker conversion than the founding class, which placed 132 of 135 seekers. The Dean's message calls 2024 "a difficult placement year", and the recruiter count fell to 41 firms from 56 for the Class of 2023.
Pay held up despite that. The audited median rose to INR 24.00 LPA from INR 23.00 LPA, and the average was INR 23.41 LPA against INR 23.50 LPA a year earlier. The highest CTC climbed to INR 50.00 LPA from INR 44.98 LPA. Unusually, the median sits above the average, which means the lower end of the distribution, not the top, did the pulling; the top 10% averaged INR 31.88 LPA, below the founding class's INR 35.91 LPA. 92 students (77% of those placed) were at INR 20 lakh or above.
By industry, Conglomerate / Manufacturing (25%) and Consulting (23%) led, with IT & Product at 18%, BFSI at 15% and FMCG / Retail / Media at 11%. By function, General Management / Strategy led at 28%, followed by Consulting at 24%, Product Management / Technology at 20%, Sales & Marketing at 19%, Finance at 7% and Operations at 2%. The industry, function and pre/post-MBA figures are labelled "unaudited" in the report; only the CTC numbers and graduation-pool table are covered by the B2K Analytics audit. The unaudited post-MBA average of INR 24.14 LPA does not match the audited INR 23.41 LPA, so treat the pre/post comparison as indicative. Per-firm offer counts and international offers are not disclosed.
Key takeaways
Median up, average flat
The audited median rose to INR 24.00 LPA from INR 23.00 LPA, while the average stayed near INR 23.4-23.5 LPA. With the median above the average, the middle of the batch did well; the drag came from a weaker top band and lower tail.
Fewer firms, more unplaced
Recruiters fell to 41 from 56, and 9 of 128 placement seekers were still without offers at reporting time, against 2 of 135 the year before. The Dean explicitly described it as a difficult year.
Consulting and conglomerates carried the batch
Conglomerate / Manufacturing (25%) and Consulting (23%) together took nearly half of offers, with BCG joining McKinsey, Arthur D. Little and the Big Four on the recruiter list. These sector shares are unaudited.
A higher ceiling
The highest CTC rose to INR 50.00 LPA from INR 44.98 LPA, but the top 10% average fell to INR 31.88 LPA from INR 35.91 LPA, so the headline high is a single outlier rather than a stronger top decile.
Sector split
Hover a slice to view the percentage / count split
Top recruiters
How BITSoM compares with other private B-schools in 2024
All rankings →Median CTC from each college's 2024 report. BITSoM ranks 3 of 6 private B-schools with a 2024 report on PlacementReport.
Frequently asked questions
How did average CTC compare with the median in 2024?
Average CTC was INR 23.41 LPA and median was INR 24.00 LPA. The median sits above the average, which happens when a few low offers pull the average down.
How does the highest CTC compare with the average in 2024?
The highest CTC was INR 50.00 LPA, about 2.1x the average of INR 23.41 LPA.
Which program does this 2024 report cover?
This page covers MBA Class of 2022-24 at BITS School of Management.
Which companies recruited at BITSoM in 2024?
Recruiters named in the official 2024 report include McKinsey & Company, Boston Consulting Group, Arthur D. Little, Accenture Strategy, EY, KPMG, PwC and Hindustan Unilever. In all, 41 recruiters took part.
What was the placement percentage at BITSoM in 2024?
93%: 119 of 128 students in the reported batch were placed.
Where can I find the official BITSoM 2024 placement report PDF?
The college's own document is linked at the top of this page ("Audited Final Placement Report, MBA Class of 2022-2024 (PDF)"). Every figure here is transcribed from it.
Notes
The Class of 2022-24 had 131 students, of whom 3 opted out and 128 sought placement through the school; 119 received offers and 9 were still unplaced when the audited report was issued (data as on 26 July 2024). That is a weaker conversion than the founding class, which placed 132 of 135 seekers. The Dean’s message calls 2024 “a difficult placement year”, and the recruiter count fell to 41 firms from 56 for the Class of 2023.
Pay held up despite that. The audited median rose to INR 24.00 LPA from INR 23.00 LPA, and the average was INR 23.41 LPA against INR 23.50 LPA a year earlier. The highest CTC climbed to INR 50.00 LPA from INR 44.98 LPA. Unusually, the median sits above the average, which means the lower end of the distribution, not the top, did the pulling; the top 10% averaged INR 31.88 LPA, below the founding class’s INR 35.91 LPA. 92 students (77% of those placed) were at INR 20 lakh or above.
By industry, Conglomerate / Manufacturing (25%) and Consulting (23%) led, with IT & Product at 18%, BFSI at 15% and FMCG / Retail / Media at 11%. By function, General Management / Strategy led at 28%, followed by Consulting at 24%, Product Management / Technology at 20%, Sales & Marketing at 19%, Finance at 7% and Operations at 2%. The industry, function and pre/post-MBA figures are labelled “unaudited” in the report; only the CTC numbers and graduation-pool table are covered by the B2K Analytics audit. The unaudited post-MBA average of INR 24.14 LPA does not match the audited INR 23.41 LPA, so treat the pre/post comparison as indicative. Per-firm offer counts and international offers are not disclosed.
totalStudents here is the 128 students who sought placement through the school, not the full batch of 131. CTC is first-year Maximum Earning Potential (fixed, variable and first-year joining bonus; first-year ESOP vesting only; relocation excluded).