
Indian Institute of Management, Sambalpur2025 Placement Report
Indian Institute of Management, Sambalpur: 2025 Placement Report
Numbers
Editorial review
IIM Sambalpur's 2025 cycle is a broad-based step up: 216 recruiters for 314 students, median CTC up 14.27% to Rs 15.03 lakh, and BFSI/NBFC taking 40% of offers. The Rs 48.60 lakh headline is an offered figure; the best package actually taken was Rs 32.95 lakh.
IIM Sambalpur's ninth MBA batch (2023-25, 314 students) closed final placements with a median CTC of Rs 15,02,692 and an average of Rs 15,65,375. The report itself states these are 14.27% and 10.12% higher than the previous batch, and both increases line up with the 2022-24 report's median of Rs 13.15 lakh and average of Rs 14.21 lakh. The average sitting only about Rs 0.6 lakh above the median says the batch's pay is tightly bunched rather than lifted by a few large offers.
The headline needs care. The report lists a highest offered CTC of Rs 48.60 lakh (a 106.81% jump the report calculates against the prior year's Rs 23.50 lakh) and, separately, a highest secured CTC of Rs 32.95 lakh. The domain and sector tables are built on secured offers, so Rs 32.95 lakh in Finance and BFSI/NBFC is the best package a student actually took. Note also that the 2022-24 report described its Rs 23.50 lakh as the highest secured salary, so the 106.81% figure compares an offered number with a secured one.
Recruiter depth is the clearest gain: 216 companies, up 32.51% by the report's own count, of which 144 were first-time recruiters, and 16% of students converted pre-placement offers. Sector-wise, BFSI/NBFC took 40% of placements, IT/ITeS 25% and Consulting 19%, so those three account for 84% of the batch. By function, General Management (28%) and Finance (17%) lead. Upper-tail pay is respectable for a newer IIM: the top 10% averaged Rs 27.28 lakh and the top 25% Rs 21.81 lakh.
What the report does not disclose: a placement percentage or count of students placed, total offers, the number of international offers, or a split between students who opted out and those placed. The data is stated as reported up to 31 March 2025. The institute's web page summary for this batch quotes a few figures (17.58% average growth, Rs 21.65 lakh top-25% average, Rs 15.43 lakh female average) that differ from the PDF; the numbers here follow the PDF.
Key takeaways
Median up 14.27% to Rs 15.03 lakh
The report states the median rose 14.27% and the average 10.12% over 2022-24, consistent with that batch's Rs 13.15 lakh median and Rs 14.21 lakh average. With average and median only about Rs 0.6 lakh apart, the median is a fair read of a typical outcome.
Read Rs 48.60 lakh as an offer, not an outcome
The highest offered CTC was Rs 48.60 lakh, but the highest secured CTC was Rs 32.95 lakh. The domain and sector tables top out at the secured figure, so Rs 32.95 lakh is the realistic ceiling for this batch.
BFSI, IT and Consulting took 84% of placements
BFSI/NBFC alone was 40% of the sector mix, IT/ITeS 25% and Consulting 19%. FMCG was 2% and EdTech 3%, so aspirants targeting consumer goods should expect a thin pool here.
Recruiter base widened sharply
216 recruiters visited, a 32.51% rise, and 144 were new to campus. That breadth matters more than the top figure for a 314-student batch.
No placement rate is published
The report gives batch strength but not students placed, total offers or opt-outs, so a placement percentage cannot be read from it.
Female students averaged Rs 15.73 lakh against Rs 15.54 lakh…
Female students averaged Rs 15.73 lakh against Rs 15.54 lakh for male students; freshers averaged Rs 15.45 lakh against Rs 15.78 lakh for experienced candidates.
Sector split
Hover a slice to view the percentage / count split
Top recruiters
How IIM Sambalpur compares with other IIMs in 2025
All rankings →Median (or average where no median is published) CTC from each college's 2025 report. IIM Sambalpur ranks 12 of 17 IIMs with a 2025 report on PlacementReport.
Frequently asked questions
How did average CTC compare with the median in 2025?
Average CTC was ₹15,65,375 and median was ₹15,02,692. The average sits above the median because a smaller group of high offers pulled it up.
How does the highest CTC compare with the average in 2025?
The highest CTC was ₹48,60,000, about 3.1x the average of ₹15,65,375.
Which program does this 2025 report cover?
This page covers MBA, Batch 2023-25 at Indian Institute of Management, Sambalpur.
Which companies recruited at IIM Sambalpur in 2025?
Recruiters named in the official 2025 report include Accenture Technology, Axis Bank, Bajaj Allianz Life Insurance Company, Bharat Forge Limited, Bigbasket, Bosch Limited, Capgemini and Cognizant. In all, 216 recruiters took part.
Where can I find the official IIM Sambalpur 2025 placement report PDF?
The college's own document is linked at the top of this page ("Final Placement Report, MBA 2023-25 (PDF)"). Every figure here is transcribed from it.
Notes
IIM Sambalpur’s ninth MBA batch (2023-25, 314 students) closed final placements with a median CTC of Rs 15,02,692 and an average of Rs 15,65,375. The report itself states these are 14.27% and 10.12% higher than the previous batch, and both increases line up with the 2022-24 report’s median of Rs 13.15 lakh and average of Rs 14.21 lakh. The average sitting only about Rs 0.6 lakh above the median says the batch’s pay is tightly bunched rather than lifted by a few large offers.
The headline needs care. The report lists a highest offered CTC of Rs 48.60 lakh (a 106.81% jump the report calculates against the prior year’s Rs 23.50 lakh) and, separately, a highest secured CTC of Rs 32.95 lakh. The domain and sector tables are built on secured offers, so Rs 32.95 lakh in Finance and BFSI/NBFC is the best package a student actually took. Note also that the 2022-24 report described its Rs 23.50 lakh as the highest secured salary, so the 106.81% figure compares an offered number with a secured one.
Recruiter depth is the clearest gain: 216 companies, up 32.51% by the report’s own count, of which 144 were first-time recruiters, and 16% of students converted pre-placement offers. Sector-wise, BFSI/NBFC took 40% of placements, IT/ITeS 25% and Consulting 19%, so those three account for 84% of the batch. By function, General Management (28%) and Finance (17%) lead. Upper-tail pay is respectable for a newer IIM: the top 10% averaged Rs 27.28 lakh and the top 25% Rs 21.81 lakh.
What the report does not disclose: a placement percentage or count of students placed, total offers, the number of international offers, or a split between students who opted out and those placed. The data is stated as reported up to 31 March 2025. The institute’s web page summary for this batch quotes a few figures (17.58% average growth, Rs 21.65 lakh top-25% average, Rs 15.43 lakh female average) that differ from the PDF; the numbers here follow the PDF.